30 Days of New – Day 14

sushi

I FINALLY did it! I tried sushi! Wow, this has been on my list of things to try for a LONG time, but I could never quite bring myself to do it. So on the 14th day of my ’30 Days of New’ challenge I did it! My husband was shocked, as I never eat anything unless it’s well done. I heard through the grapevine that a local restaurant, The Lakehouse Grille, has good sushi. So away we went. Luckily, I was accompanied by my sister-in-law who loves sushi and knew all about it. So I gave her the menu and asked her to order. We got spicy tuna and smoked salmon. For my first bite I had the spicy tuna and dipped it in soy sauce with wasabi. I though – ok, not too bad. So I tried the salmon without any dipping sauce. Didn’t care for that bite quite as much, but I did it! These were quite a mouthful and more filling than I thought they would be. I definitely liked the one dipped in the sauce better, but the second one was ok. Not sure if I’d order just for myself, but I would try again with a friend. Do you have any recommendations for a newbie sushi eater?

Leave a Reply

